Nicki Bloom wins 2008 Patrick White Playwrights’ Award

Posted October 13, 2011, by Josie Chun

Nicki Bloom, playwright and Artistic Director of production company nowyesnow, is the 2008 recipient of the prestigious Patrick White Playwrights’ Award.

The $20 000 award was established in 2000 by the Sydney Theatre Company and the Sydney Morning Herald to celebrate White’s contribution to theatre and to foster the development of uniquely Australian theatrical voices.

Bloom’s latest work, Bloodwood, is her first full-length play since her critically acclaimed debut work, Tender. Bloodwood deals with the concepts of language, history, faith, memory and nationhood, through the depiction of two very different worlds: that of the 1893 New Australia utopian colony in Paraguay, and an imagined world which exists in both the past and the future.

Bloom’s award-winning first play, Tender, has been performed at Belvoir Street Theatre’s B Sharp, the Griffin Theatre and Hothouse Theatre in Albury/Wodonga. Tender will have its international debut in New York in July as part of the Public Theater’s Summer Play Festival.

Bloom has recently returned from Germany, where she studied under a Goethe-Institut Australien German Language Scholarship.

Josie Chun

AIM Business School
All Health Training
Australasian College of Health and Wellness
Australian College of Physical Education
Australian Institute of Business
Australian Institute of ICT
Australian Institute of Management Education and Training
Australian Institute of Personal Trainers
Builders Academy Australia
Building and Construction Training Australia
College Australia
College for Adult Learning
Deakin University
Ducere Global Business School
Edith Cowan University Online
Endeavour College of Natural Health
Foundation Education
Griffith University
Hammond Institute
Industry Skills Training
James Cook University Online
La Trobe University
La Trobe University Online (Delivered by Didasko)
MCI Institute
Mentor Education
Monarch Institute
Nepean Industry Edge Training
Onfit Training College
Open Colleges
RMIT Online
The Hotel School
TrainSmart Australia
UNE Partnerships
University of Adelaide
UNSW Online
UTS Online
Victoria University Online
Torrens University
University of East London
University of Mauritius
University of New England
University of Wales Trinity Saint David
Integrated Care & Management Training (ICMT)
Open Colleges School of Health
HTMi Australia
Southern Cross University